Home / News / Ronaldo gets Ballon d’Or 2016 beating Messi

Ronaldo gets Ballon d’Or 2016 beating Messi

Real Madrid forward Cristiano Ronaldo beat rival Lionel Messi to win the distinguished Ballon d’Or award for fourth time.

The 31-year-old is currently one behind Barcelona’s Messi, UN agency took the honour for a fifth time last year.

Atletico Madrid’s French forward Antoine Griezmann finished third within the vote.

Ronaldo helped Real Madrid win last season’s Champions League and scored 3 goals as Portugal won monetary unit 2016.

He has currently won the Ballon d’Or in 2008, 2013, 2014 and 2016, with Messi the sole alternative recipient of the award since winning it for the primary time in 2009.


“I ne’er thought in my mind that i’d win the Golden Ball fourfold. i’m happy. I feel therefore proud and happy,” aforementioned Ronaldo.

“I have the chance to give thanks all of my team-mates, the national team, Real Madrid, all of the folks and players UN agency helped Maine to win this individual award.”

The former Manchester United forward has scored nineteen goals in twenty games for club and country this term, to feature to the fifty four he got last season.

Ballon d’Or winners
2016: Cristiano Ronaldo 2009: Lionel Messi
2015: Lionel Messi 2008: Cristiano Ronaldo
2014: Cristiano Ronaldo 2007: Kaka
2013: Cristiano Ronaldo 2006: Fabio Cannavaro
2012: Lionel Messi 2005: Ronaldinho
2011: Lionel Messi 2004: Andriy Shevchenko
2010: Lionel Messi 2003: Pavel Nedved

Ronaldo’s Real Spanish capital team-mate Gareth Bale finished sixth within the vote, whereas Leicester town striker Jamie Vardy – the sole English person enclosed on the 30-player range – was eighth.

The Ballon d’Or is voted for by 173 journalists from round the world.

It has been awarded by France soccer per annum since 1956, except for the past six years it became the Fifa Ballon d’Or in association with world football’s brass and was awarded to the world’s best player.

However, Fifa concluded its association with the award in Sep.

Fifa can give its own prize for the world’s best comfort station player, at the side of the simplest women’s player and team of the year, at the simplest Fifa soccer Awards ceremony in urban center on nine Jan.

About S sauleh

Check Also

South African women won T20 Match

Lahore, 18 May 2019: Half-centuries by Marizanne Kapp and Lizelle Lee helped South Africa women …